1st email from Sarah

I’m the District Leader and it’s part of my job to check the mail and pass it out.. So everyone in my district got something except me.
I love my district, we’re an all sister district and I LOVE not having to deal with Elders. Gym and meal times are already about all I can handle of these 18 year old boys. Sheesh. I really hope they do some serious maturing in here. That time we were told, “The gospel is true or 19 year old boys would have messed it up by now.” trying 18 year old boys. Oh my goodness. But I found something awesome in our Book of Mormon read that we had. It was 1 Nephi.. maybe verse.. 11ish? We didn’t get very far because we discussed everything and revelation was just flowing. One of my questions before we started was, “Did Terry get ANYTHING at all from our lesson?” because I felt like it was a huge failure. And then that verse said something along the lines of God loving his children and if they come to them they won’t perish. And the spirit just told me straight up, “Sister Schuerman. Heavenly Father loves Terry to much to let you ruin his life. He’s not going to let you get in the way of his salvation. He was touched from the lesson.” and that was so comforting. Just to know that the He does love Terry and that I can’t screw that up. It was super funny though because Brother M told me that before I went in there.. it’s just something about the Spirit telling you that that makes you believe it more than when a teacher tells you that. Hahah.
So, when people tell you that a mission is hard… it’s something that you can’t understand until you’re a missionary. I have never in my life gone through anything this difficult. Days in the MTC seriously feel like a week. I don’t even know how to handle how tired I am ALL of the time. Sister Anderson is my companion and we’re perfect for each other. Our teachers are AMAZING. I seriously love them so much. They’re all a bunch of RMs and they go to BYU. They are seriously like the sweetest Brothers ever. They’re perfect for us. Sister Anderson and I are teaching Terry and our first real lesson with him was yesterday morning… it was so bad. So bad. I have never felt so unworthy and overall not prepared for missionary work in my life. I actually thought about coming home. Yesterday was SO hard. I have never cried so much in my entire life. I promise. But one of our teachers, Brother Bryan pulled each of us out for a 1 on 1 and he helped so much. Seriously amazing. I know this is where I need to be and I’m so happy here.
I have been so humbled here. We pray so much. All of the time. And I have never experienced revelation like I have here. It’s crazy amazing. Last night Sister Anderson and I were able to finally have a good companionship study and we were able to plan a lesson that was, completely inspired, for Terry and we were SO happy! Like we really feel prepared and have faith that our next lesson is going to rock his world. He’s in his mid-thirties and he just got out of prison. Yeah. He doesn’t even know who Christ really is so it’s like teaching a 36 year old primary person. So weird. We get a second investigator on Monday too.
So now I’m going to rewind a little bit to the first full day here.. Thursday? That feels like weeks ago, seriously. So I named that day, “Leave it to Sister Schuerman” day. I lost my ID card, had to buy a replacement, then I didn’t bring a pen, journal, or PMG to a meeting, then I found my ID card, then I took the wrong ID card to the cafeteria and I couldn’t use it so Sis. Anderson and I had to go back to the room to get my other card.. Then I forgot to take my wallet to the bookstore so I had to bum off of Sister Horgisheimer for 10 bucks and somehow I got chosen to be District Leader after meeting the Branch Presidency. What a day that was. I came to the conclusion the ‘A heavy purse is a happy purse’ and my shoulder was actually sore from carrying my bag. Days here really are so busy, I don’t have time to think about anything other than being a missionary. Also, wearing pants is almost weird now. OH! So when we got here we were talked to and the President’s wife said to make sure we call each other Sisters and Elders because “Guys are at home dating your girlfriends” and we cracked up so much. I met another Sister from Alabama! I was so surprised. 1/2 of my district is going to my mission and the other 1/2 is going to Tacoma, WA. I’ve actually met 4 other Sisters from a different district going to my mission as well so that’s exciting.
Today we get to go to the temple and I’m super excited.
Gym is fun though. Volleyball is so much more fun at the MTC than at YSA back home. No one argues and fights and no one keeps score. We all just suck together and it’s ohkay! hahahah. I learned out to play four-square yesterday, too, and it was fun. I really don’t feel like getting my camera out to send pictures. Sorry. But, quite frankly y’all don’t even deserve them after the loneliness y’all made me feel yesterday and today..
I’m super excited for tomorrow. Nervous about Branch Council though. I’m the first Sister District Leader that my Branch Pres has had and he’s been here for 3 1/2 years. And next Sunday I’ll have to train an Elder how to be one, I haven’t even been trained yet. Being called Sister Schuerman is probably the weirdest part of this whole experience though. I guess I’ll get used to it though.
Well.. I guess that’s about it. I don’t really know what else to write. I got my flight info and we have to be at the travel office at 3:30 AM on the 3rd. Ugh. ):
I forgot my punny joke! Empty Sea = MTC. Teheheh. d; This place is anything but empty. 350+ on main campus (where I am) and then 200+ more on West Campus the Wednesday I got here. We met the.. something important from Czech Republic and that was neat.
Love Sister Schuerman

In our defense: We had no idea she would be able to email so soon; and I forgot her email address. I have it know and she will not feel lonely anymore. If anything, she will say ok once a week will do. 🙂 Carla Schuerman

Leave a Reply

