Not Complaining!

So, at first I thought I liked this whole members feeding us thing.. so much food though. So Sunday we only had sacrament meeting because a pipe burst and it had to be fixed.. so this family invited us over for crepes and my dumb self ate like 3 huge crepes.. Then we went to our Ward Mission Leader’s house for correlation where they fed us quesadillas and enchiladas. Then we went somewhere for supper and they fed us breakfast burritos. And I was super sick so I had 0 appetite left by lunch time.  I had to have them wrap up my dessert. I felt so bad.. hahah. And today we get 2 suppers.. Hahahah.

It’s finally started to warm up a bit. It got up in the 40s and it was AMAZING. Seriously. Short sleeve shirt and I was loving it. Today isn’t too bad either. So great.

Before I forget, anything has to be priority. If you order stuff online it’ll be fedex or something and they can’t forward that to my address and because I live with members I’m not allowed to give you the address.. not that I know it anyway. So yeah. You should just send me my old GPS with whatever else or I guess I can just buy one when I need one. Maybe I’ll do that. Just whatever  you want.

Guess what I did this week! I invited this awesome kid to be baptized and he said yes! So March 1st is the plan and we also have a baptism this weekend for an older Spanish lady, Martha (marta?). Almost everything we do is less active work. We’re meeting with these 2 amazing women who are divorced and raising their kids and we’re trying to get them to church. Last night was a really good singles thing and they both came. Yay. One of them reminds me so much of Jeanette and I love her. Her daughters are absolutely adorable too. Everyone here reminds me of someone I know, it’s crazy.

Gosh, I feel like I have nothing to write about… This is what happens when Sister Schuerman makes a goal not to complain. hahahah. Oh my gosh. I’ve gained almost 5 pounds.  I guess it’s what happens when members feed you a butt ton of food and you’re too tired and sick to actually use your 30 minutes to work out in the morning.. You’d be pretty proud of me though, I’ve done really well at managing to work out, eat, and get ready on time. I’m actually super impressed with myself. d:

We did a lot of service this week. We helped move 2 different families, helped a lady (her name is —-) rearrange her house some so that it’s “her house” instead of “their house”. Helps her get over her ex.. I feel so bad for her.. he never went back to the temple after they were sealed. How do people do that?! Gosh it’s so sad. Anyway though, we also go to this Crisis Center and volunteer. We’re supposed to do 10 hours of community service a week. We had… 8 missionaries there last time I think. It was awesome. This lady, Mama — (she has the thickest Louisiana accent!!!) runs most of it. She had the elders make like 250 PB&J sandwiches while Sis. W and I organized and cleaned out some of the pantries so she actually knew what food she has. We’re going back there tomorrow. (: It’s so sad seeing these people… but like, gah they’re so unappreciative. They complain because Mama D— doesn’t give them enough meat and real food.. uhm at least she gives you a warm place to sleep and you’re not in the -20 degree weather freezing your butt off? And you have food! It puts things into perspective for me, too. Because I know I complain a lot.. and I have no right to complain. How dare I complain that the members feed us too much. Why on earth would I complain about blessings? So I really loved going there because it was a really humbling experience for me and sort of a reality check. I’m looking forward to going back, really makes me thankful for what I have and it helps me complain a lot less.

Something else I have started doing is reading my patriarchal blessing and my mission call during my study time. I LOVE STUDY TIME. I have never loved my scriptures so much and I seriously can’t get enough of them. When my hour is up I get so sad because it’s just not enough time for me. Read your scriptures, the right way, and you’ll never want to put them down. I promise. Pray first, if you have questions or if something is bothering you, write it down. Then pray, just pray and ask Him to open your mind, your heart, to speak to you and to help you understand what you read. The scriptures are FULL of great stuff. They are literally full of God’s words and I promise your answers are in there. And it doesn’t even matter where you read. I started at the beginning of the BoM and it’s been awesome. I skip around some too though. I use the references at the bottom and sometimes I go where I feel the Lord wants me to. I found a few super powerful verses I want to share… Luke 22:32 “…and when thou art converted, strenghten thy brethren.” We can’t go out and share this message unless we ourselves have been converted. You are the most important convert on your mission because you can’t share what you don’t first have. And that took me to Doctrine and Covenants (we aren’t supposed to say D&C) 108:7. So I read that and then I basically read from the bottom up because I kept wanted to know what gave Lyman that power. Then I put my name in, “My servant Sister Schuerman…” and so when I shared this awesome section in Comp Study Sis. W pointed out that Lyman’s last name was Sherman and I died inside. The end. 

Also, Doctrine and Covenants 38:7. I read that and it reminded me of the primary song, “If the Savior Stood Beside Me” and it just made me really happy and brought a lot of peace to me. This morning my peace came from 1 Nephi 17:9. Well, really chapters 16-17 but that verse made me realize what I needed. Nephi didn’t pray to have his troubles magically taken away. He prayed for the strength to overcome his problems.

I also need to stop praying and begging to not be sick anymore because obviously it’s the Lord’s will that I’m sick so I guess I should pray for strength to suck it up. Last night Bishop talked at the single’s thing and he said something about not being disappointed in the wrong things and then he said that we need to show our Heavenly Father how we will deal with disappointment.

We need to prove to him, and mostly ourselves, that we can overcome, that we can be strong, and that we do deserve His blessings because we will be faithful no matter how hard it is. And then I read in 1 Nephi as well… something along the lines of, “the guilty taketh the truth to be hard..” and I thought, “it’s not hard if we do it for the love of God. If we decide to obey Him because we LOVE Him, it’s not going to be hard because he’s going to help us. The only reason it’s hard not to watch bad movies is because the natural man wants to and we really want to. We don’t want to follow His commandment, we just do it because we know we should. When we really have a desire to do it because we love Him, it won’t be hard anymore because He will help us.

Also, finish these statements please…

“I’m happy the gospel is in my life because…”
“I feel this way because…”

Image

Mom, I love you. When I read that you felt like I was calling out to you, I just wanted to cry. Because I have been. I know the Lord hears and answers prayers and he has been my comforting arm this week when you haven’t been able to be that for me. I know you’re praying for me, and I know I couldn’t have made it this far without those prayers. Keep them coming, please.

Colorado is beautiful. Sometimes when i’m driving around I get really distracted by the beauty and I just dream about coming back here when I’m not a missionary and being able to really enjoy the mountains and whatnot. I think I’d actually love to live in Colorado. It’s legit beautiful. And the cold wouldn’t be that bad if I could wear pants. hahahah. d: Anyway though. I do have other people to write still.. I love y’all so much! Have a great week!

Love,

Sister Schuerman

I am enjoying being a missionary! Learning and growing SO much! I love when we actually get to serve people and teach them about their savior! Yes, it’s hard. But it is SO worth it.

Not sure if that came across in the last email, so this is just a little add on to clarfily.

Gotta go now! ):

I love y’all, and miss y’all.

Helaman will be in my prayers… I’m super worried about that little guy.. ):

Almost everyone here has dogs, it’s bittersweet. Hahah.

Love,

Sister Schuerman

One thought on “Not Complaining!

Leave a Reply

