I’m Trying To Be Like Jesus

I’m following in his ways.
I’m trying to love as he did, in all that I do and say.
At times I am tempted to make a wrong choice,
But I try to listen as the still small voice whispers,
“Love one another as Jesus loves you.
Try to show kindness in all that you do.
Be gentle and loving in deed and in thought,
For these are the things Jesus taught.”
I’m trying to love my neighbor;
I’m learning to serve my friends.
I watch for the day of gladness when Jesus will come again.
I try to remember the lessons he taught.
Then the Holy Spirit enters into my thoughts, saying:
“Love one another as Jesus loves you.
Try to show kindness in all that you do.
Be gentle and loving in deed and in thought,
For these are the things Jesus taught.”

“I hate to spoil the ending for you, but everything is going to be ohkay.”
“God doesn’t do random.”

This week has been marvelous. Because I’m a missionary, duh.
So which type of emails are preferred? Miracles/highlights or a day-by-day reporting? I feel like the miracles/highlights is more fun. d:

So, we had ZONE CONFERENCE! I love zone conference. It was really awesome because Sister Mendenhall came up to me and hugged me and said, “I got my training from you and Sister Knowlton! I titled it #behappy because you two are so happy and because of the necklace y’all showed me that says #happy!” It was awesome. I love Sister Mendenhall. She’s an amazing woman. She might be coming to the mall with us today! She’s such a model. I love her. And she and President Mendenhall are SO cute! Zone Conf was great though. Learned a lot.. got yapped at about housing and cars for like a year. Sheesh. It was a slap in the face to realize that my brand new Ford Fusion probably cost 20,000-30,000 though.. so really it cost 200,000-300,000 because tithing paid for it.. Ouch. So, I was extra happy when we got a clean car award. Because it shows how much we appreciate the members paying tithing. Anyway though. It was super crazy. I walked out of there totally inspired.. Because yesterday I said goodbye to y’all and became a missionary.. and tomorrow I will say hello and take off the badge for good.. today is the only day I have to be a missionary. I know in the end that is exactly how I will feel… And I don’t want to give my departing testimony and have to say, “I’m not ready to go home- I haven’t changed the way I wanted to.. I’m not done.” No way. I will be ready, I will have changed, I will have completed what He sent me out here to do.

Honestly I think this is my favorite miracle this week.. It was a rough day.. we were exhausted. Beyond exhausted.. and hungry.. counting down hours/minutes to supper kind of hungry.. and I was craving hamburgers like no other. So supper time comes and the member opens the door.. and I smell hamburgers. We were SO darn happy. Hahahah. And I was like, “Thank you for following the promptings of the Holy Ghost when you decided what to make for supper.” and it was so cool because she replied, “I almost just made hot dogs instead.. I asked my daughter if I should do hamburgers still and she said.. ‘yeah, I feel like you should.'” Ohkay, if that isn’t proof that no matter what kind of day you’re having GOD LOVES YOU and KNOWS YOU nothing is. We left pretty motivated.. slightly depressed because it was in the home that we found out about Robin Williams dying. SO SAD! ): “If you’re not enough without it, you will never be enough with it.” We have to be pleased with who we are despite what we have.. because what we have never changes who we are. He didn’t understand who he was..

Our progressing investigators broke up with us.. it was sad.. but I had some awesome studies this morning.. I made a huge connection with Repentance and Consecration.. The 2nd and 3rd lines in L3 Repentance blew my mind this morning. Anything about us that isn’t God’s will requires repenting.. that includes righteous desires.. So if I desire for those two to be baptized, and it’s not God’s will for that to happen right now.. I need to repent. I need to see God as he REALLY is.. and so I need to see His will perfectly.. and then I need to see myself just like Him.. so my will needs to be just like His.. so I need to see the world like He does.. and so I need to have the same desires for the world as He does.. It reminded me of Moroni 7:48 “…that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure.” Then I noticed that in PMG it says something like, after you repent you MAY fall short” … It isn’t required. You don’t have to mess up again. If you truly repent you won’t make that mistake again. Sure, you’ll still mess up.. but it will be in different ways. Because as we learn/grow more we realize other places where we need to repent.. we won’t just keep repenting for the same mistake. Called to repentance- it was awesome.

Man, I’m totally out of time because I have to write President Mendenhall still. I don’t want to be one of those slackers he keeps talking about that don’t email him.. he’s all, “I know who you are and I know where you live” hahahah. They’re so legit.

Read the scriptures, read PMG, pray.. it will change your life if you let it.
I love y’all!

Sister Sarah SchuermanPicture 004Picture 007Picture 005

How can you not  be happy with a sky like this

How can you not be happy with a sky like this

Leave a Reply

