Then conquer we must

when our cause it is just,
And this be our motto:
“In God is our trust!”
So this week we were talking to a guy…
“So are you two single?”
“Well, we’re missionaries so we come out here for a year and a half and we leave dating, school, family, and everything.”
“We have missionaries at our church, they still date.”
“Yeah? Well.. we don’t.”
“Well, are you single?”
“Hahah, we don’t date while we’re missionaries. We just go around and bring people closer to Christ.. So do you know if any of your neighbors could use a prayer?”
“I don’t know, you could go knock all their doors. I’ll watch your car- I’m the head of the neighborhood watch here.”
…uhm…that’s really good for you..? Bye creeper!
The other week in MCM… (missionary coordination meeting)
 
We were sitting there and this lady, ward missionary, starts talking about the apartments we work in like every day. “That’s just not a place for sisters! You’re going to be walking along one day and you’ll be in the hallway and some man can just put against the wall and slit your throat! Like, 80% of those people at least are committing felonies.” It was soo funny. It was seriously SO stinking hilarious. They aren’t that bad.. I mean they smell gross and everyone is on drugs and stuff.. But I’ve never really felt in danger. Selma is way worse than these ghetto apts. d:
“Let virtue garnish thy thoughts unceasingly..”
So I’ve decided that my thoughts aren’t as virtuous as they should be.. so now every time an un-virturous thought enters into my mind I recite D&C 121:45 It’s actually helped a lot. (: Not like I’m thinking awful things.. but if I start thinking about unconsecrated things.. like school or family.. I want to be fully consecrated. There is no point in me being here if I’m not consecrated.
Mosiah 3:25
“And if they be evil they are consigned to an awful view of their own guilt and abominations, which doth cause them to shrink from the presence of the Lord into a state of misery and endless torment, from whence they can no more return; therefore they have drunk damnation to their own souls.”
 
Something I’ve come to understand out here is that Judgement day will not be what we usually think. God isn’t going to damn us- rather we will feel to guilty if we’re standing in His presence without having repented. As I was teaching this principle- we choose where we will stay in the next life.. something hit me. We have to decide what we deserve.. what we’re worthy of. It reminded me of when I would want to do extra chores for money and you’d say, “Well, what do you think your work is worth?” or when I would babysit and you’d ask, “How much will you ask for?” and I replied, “I don’t know.. Just whatever they offer I’ll take.” I realize now what you were trying to help me learn from that. I have to know what I’m worth, I have to know what I deserve for my efforts.. because when I’m standing before God I have to be bold enough to say, “Yes, Father.. I was never perfect.. but I worked dang hard and I do deserve Celestial Glory and I that is where I will feel most at home.”
Women and the Priesthood
“Let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak(JST says rule)…” 1 Corinthians 14:34
 
We don’t have the priesthood because that’s not how God wanted it to be. Ohkay? Sheesh people. Let it go.
EAR PIERCING 
I don’t know why I keep getting the comps that don’t have their ears pierced.. but Sister Knowlton got her pierced on Monday!!! It was so fabulous!
“Is it going to hurt?”
“No.. have you ever had a tattoo or anything?”
“No! My body is pure!”
“Not anymore!”
SOOO funny. But she did it and she loves it. (:
Referrals
Sister Knowlton and I have decided we need to ask for more refs. So now I keep a tally.. Every person we don’t ask is 10 jumping jacks. And whoever asks for the most gets free froyo from the other. It’s kind of good.. but kind of bad because now we just race to ask for refs and it gets awkward sometimes.. Oh well. We’re working on it. d:
MIRACLE
We went to see a former.. their neighbor was on his porch though, so we stopped there to chat. Turns out his friend just gave him a BoM and the friend is a LA that S. Knowlton taught in a previous area! What?! So we exchanged numbers and we should be seeing him in a week! Hooray!
And.. transfers are coming!
This transfer has been AMAZING. I have loved it so much. Seriously. It’s been fabulous. Excited to see what transfer doctrine has in store for us! I’ll let you know Monday!
I LOVE Y’ALL!
Stay awesome!
Love,
Sister Schuerman
Leave a Reply

